Good Things in the World of Beading


This morning I ran across something and started to wonder. I know people use Fireline alot for their beading and the other day, I thought I had run across an article from Caravan Beads about C-Lon. I am referring to ‘test strength’ of Fireline versus C-Lon. I can no longer find the C-Lon article (of course and I may have misread anyway). Many women buy 4# and 6# test Fireline, because it is a smaller diameter and can run through the teeny beads more times. I thought I had read that C-Lon had a double digit test strength. Test strength means that the strength (#) can hold that much in weight before breakage. 4# test = 4 lbs in weight, etc. Now everyone is always concerned (and rightfully so) about the thread breaking with Swarovski crystals and such. I have used C-Lon endlessly with all types of bead, bugles and crystals and have never ever had a problem with breakage. I did break down recently and bought some Fireline to see what all the hype was about (ouch Dave’s wallet!!), I haven’t used it yet though, because I tend to use over amounts, so I guess some would say I am a tad wasteful on my thread, so I have been scared to use the Fireline because I will end up with unusable pieces (cha-ching in the trash!) To sum it up, if 6# test Fireline hold 6lbs and C-Lon has a double digit test weight (if I read properly), why would anyone buy Fireline with a weaker test strength for soooo much money, when C-Lon holds more test weight?? Does anyone out there know the actual test weight of C-Lon?? I can always write my buddies at Caravan to find out, but will wait and see what you all have to say.

*****************************************************************************************************************

Speaking of Caravan Beads, are you all aware of this awesome contest they are having?? Check this out! Not due until May 1, 2009!!!

Mmmm…Miyuki! Contest #4

*****************************************************************************************************************

I suppose I should go to the Caravan Beads website way more often!! This I also found on there! They wrote: “Several years ago I created a bead store review site on Ning which now runs itself. If you own a retail bead store or if you’d like to review a bead store, beadstores.ning is a place to do it. “

http://beadstores.ning.com/

I had NO idea this existed and I read in my Yahoo groups all the time of women who are traveling looking for bead shops in the area of the travel destination….so how freakin cool is this??!!

*****************************************************************************************************************

About ME LOL I will be in Nashua, Nh this weekend with Bead Fiesta!! YAY!!! The last show in Norwich, CT was canceled (wallet bummer!), so I have been having withdrawals of sorts. This is the place:

Courtyard Marriott
2200 Southwood Drive

Nashua, NH

I will also have my end of Wench Wares on my table….psyched!! Hope I have enough room! 😉

These are the classes I am teaching there: CLASSES

They have other cool classes there, I wish I could take!! There is also a great list of VENDORS this show!!! I should also be receiving from Bev, of MacArts ,the samples of cabs she made for the Bead Embroidery workshop for the Marlborough, MA show in September!! YAY!!! I am very excited to see them and work up the class model!

And did you all know??!! They have a coupon for the entry fee, just print it out and bring to the show!!! COUPON

*****************************************************************************************************************

I also have a class coming up at The Beadin Path!! SUNBURST RIVOLI

*****************************************************************************************************************

Off to my couch to work on Screamin’ Eagle for Wench Wares! This is a bead embroidered cuff and I should be done today…yay yay yay!!

SNEAK PREVIEW

*****************************************************************************************************************

PS~ I opened an Etsy site a few weeks ago, but haven’t done much in it!

GoodQuillHunting.etsy.com

Not enough time in a darn day…..

*****************************************************************************************************************

PSS EDIT~~~ I forgot to mention too that I am working on some really really cool cabochons!! I adore them and am fine tuning the process, so keep your eyes open for a Cabochon post!!

Leave a Reply

