Tons To Tell


I have a piece I finished a while back, but never put pics on here. I made it for a challenge in Bead Mavens and just because really. It is called New England Autumn. Dave took some really nice outdoor shots for me 😉

The other night I had an interesting and fun thing happen. I was asked to bring some of my lesser priced pieces to a shop on S. Broadway in Denver. I was so excited to be asked and it was a ‘friend’ of mine in DeviantArt, so that was awesome! So we went in to the shop yesterday, it is a shop that retails the Hot Sauce they make, Danny Cash. It was such a fun atmosphere, a bit sparse, but the people were cool! and it can NEVER hurt to get your name out! Broadway is a busy street and probably my favorite in Denver!

On other ‘fun’ notes (said with sarcasm!) I have pretty much decided to not have my Haute Couture Contest this coming year, and it would have been the 3rd Annual too! I am heartbroken and angry beyond words. As much as I would love to say who this was, I refuse to stoop to her level. I have been ‘called out’ on my use of the images for the contest and have been ‘advised’ to “do more legwork to get the permissions to publish the images on the web before you do so.”  I have had MANY wonderful suggestions of what else to do to keep the contest going, but having to make a major change is just going to make me resentful every year and I can’t live with that. That inspired me to write the next paragraph:

There are 2 main photo editing programs, Paint Shop Pro and Adobe Photshop. Both of these programs have Watermarking’ capabilities or you can actually go to the trouble of going to the ‘Image Information’ and fill out the information for ‘Creator Information’, ‘Watermark Information’, and ‘EXIF Information’ (as seen by right clicking on a finished image in PSP-which I use).  Photographers and editors should know how this is done, in order to protect themselves! Even little ole me knows how to do this! If you really don’t want people to use your images at all, you can make the image into a ‘read only’ file. That means that if the person ‘saves image as’ and downloads to their hard drive, when they go to open it, it will be all text and symbols! (which I have yet to figure out how to do).

You can also put a code on your page so people cannot right click to retrieve the image, it looks like this ( I put ‘Sorry, No Cigar’ but you can most certainly put what every you want there) and this code will not work if your images open in separate windows.

<script language=JavaScript>
<!–
var message=”Sorry, No Cigar”;
function click(z) {
if (document.all) {
if (event.button == 2) {
alert(message);
return false;
}
}
if (document.layers) {
if (z.which == 3) {
alert(message);
return false;
}
}
}
if (document.layers) {
document.captureEvents(Event.MOUSEDOWN);
}
document.onmousedown=click;
// –>
</script>

Now if there is a comp geek that wants the image there are many ways to get the image anyway, but you have to be fairly savvy to be able to get around some of this and of course taking a screen shot is ALWAYS an option if someone knows how to take one. No one is safe basically, but I definitely advise a ‘Watermark’ and some, or all, of the goodies above.

Back to something fun…Bead Mavens just held the Ice Queen Challenge. I did not get my entry finished, but I will..all in good time..I bit off more than I could chew! LOL  You should go check out the incredible entries! Bravo! and while you are there, you should check out the Mavens awesome designs tutes they all do!

Hope everyone is having a safe and cheerful holiday season!!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Tons To Tell

  1. So sorry to hear of the “harassment”. I’ve enjoyed your contests. You always make showing beadwork so much fun. Very happy for you that you got to display some of your work locally. There’s just no substitute for seeing and feeling beadwork.

  2. Chris, my mother always said that imitation was the sincerest form of flattery. I have yet to understand why some beaders say to go ahead and copy their work and give them credit, and others say absolutely DON’T . But then, everyone has different needs, and the ones who are the most adament and verbal are the ones who (usually) get their own way. I feel bad that this has happened to you because I know your needs are to bring beaders together into a warm and receptive group to learn from and support each other. On a more pleasant note, your necklace is gorgeous, and your photographer is excellent. And now I’ve rambled on long enough. ;^)

  3. Your autumn inspired necklace is beautiful!!! So much work involved, I am very impressed with your work. P.S. Don’t let the bastards get you down.

Leave a Reply

